I am not a coward.

I should start this post with a bit of a prologue to the parents who will be offended by this. I do not think you’re a bad person. I have no doubt that you love your children, and want only the best, brightest future for them. I have no doubt that you have a long lists of articles and “facts” you could point at to support your position. I’m sure that if I met you in person I’d think you and your children were lovely examples of the human spirit whose mere presence would raise my hope for humanity’s future. However…

You’re a cowardly idiot for not vaccinating your children.

As you might guess, this is a “pro-vaccine” post. As such, I should follow the traditional approach and point to all the facts that support my position. I’m not going to do that. If you really want to read all about the facts on this then the CDC, the AMA, and the NIH have all wrapped it up nicely:

CDC

AMA

NIH

Hell, these days vaccines even have their own web portal!

Vaccines

No, this post isn’t just about not vaccinating, it’s about being a coward. We’re blessed to live in a charmed and miraculous age. Parents today can sit back and agonize over whether or not a vaccine has a tiny chance of hurting their precious angel. They can do so because their grandparents and great-grandparents systematically eradicated virtually all childhood diseases that have stalked and murdered our children since we decided to climb down from the trees and take up gardening. And lets be very clear on this- murdered is the right word. Skim the list:

Diseases

Granted, a few of the diseases aren’t so bad. I had chicken pox, and I survived! Most of us have had influenza and lived to see the sunrise. But, some of these diseases are nasty, virulent dangerous bastards. Most of them killed or maimed children by the bushel. They don’t anymore, at least not here. They don’t because our relatives vaccinated them into oblivion.

If we’re all very lucky, the anti-vaccine crowd will lose. It doesn’t really matter if one child skips vaccines. Herd immunity works both ways, and as long as there aren’t to many idiots, we’ll all be fine.

God help us if they win. The CDC has a whole page devoted to this. Some it’s not so bad. A few more kids paralyzed by polio. A lot more children made deaf by the mumps. More birth defects caused by Rubella during pregnancy. A nice pile of infants killed by whooping cough. And… 2.7 MILLION dead by the measles.

Critics of vaccines have a laundry list of things they blame on vaccination. None of them hold a candle to what vaccination protects us from. I don’t think vaccination has anything to do autism, SIDS, cerebral palsy, or anything else it gets blamed for. I also don’t think it matters at all. If vaccines were completely responsible for EVERYTHING they we’re blamed for… then the right choice would be to vaccinate your children. If I KNEW that giving my son the MMR vaccine meant rolling the dice that he’d have autism… I’d still give it to him. I’d do it for him, for his children, and for his children’s children. Because these diseases have haunted humanity for thousands of years and the only responsible choice is to do my part to end them, even if it means risking my son’s life and future, just like my parents risked my life and future.

Because I’m not a coward.

11 thoughts on “I am not a coward.

  1. Agree completely! So very well said. A couple of years ago my friend could not vaccinate her son for H1N1 when it was so bad. He was seriously ill and his immunity could not even handle the vaccine. Despite the fact that all of their friends and family had the vaccine (she checked before people even came in the house), her son contracted H1N1 because so many people refused to vaccinate.

    People are idiots! Excellent post. Very well said!

  2. Welcome to the wonderful word of blogging! A very strong first post too, if I may say so. Something tells me you enjoy debate, I know my husband gets jazzed by a good debate.

    However, I find that them stressful. So that being said, I will acknowledge that I respectfully disagree – and I have medical training. That’s not to say I oppose all vaccines. I don’t think there are many out there that oppose ALL vaccines, and often most just want to stretch out the vaccine protocol so that the body has a chance to have the full antibody reaction before exposing it to the next one. But I respect that you have a stand and stick to it.

    At the end if the day, whether you vaccinate or not, I just wish parents would do so based on research, (read the medical journals, the peer-reviewed-research papers etc) and not sporadic propaganda on Facebook or the latest news-sound-bite. And keep in mind that whether it is the CDC or the local-granola-commune… They are a business. Plain and simple. Even if they also care about their cause – they have to keep their lights on! If they are discredited, it hurts their business. (And hurts their supporters, investors etc…)

    There is big money in the medical community, I know because I handle it every day. (Admittedly, in the veterinary community, but I battle with owners every day to get them to vaccinate their dogs and cats, and various preventative measures)

  3. Just wanted to congratulate you on entering the world of blogging.

    I think that the best thing for any parent concerned about the potential dangers of vaccines is to speak with their pediatrician. My husband and I knew that we were going to vaccinate our son, but I was unsure about how right the schedule was for us. SO, I talked with my pediatrician. That’s the point – you have to talk with someone who has real-life experience and is knowledgeable on the subject.

    If your pediatrician refuses to discuss the subject with you — find a new pediatrician. Doctors should be encouraging patients and patients’ parents to air their concerns and speak about them in an educated manner.

  4. Welcome to the blogging world! And having adopted our child from a third-world country where children still regularly contract measles and polio (among other things), I wholeheartedly agree.

  5. I have a disabled child..hes deaf, mentally retarded, has a feeding tube, and a horrible sleep disorder..and you wouldn’t believe the people who immediately chalk it up to immunizations! the look on their face when i tell them that he didn’t have any until he was a year old…well past the point we found out he had these issues, is priceless.

  6. The vaccine issue is one of those that is polarizing- people are passionate about it, whatever side they are on. I happen to be on the other side, and while I disagree with you, I respect that you have your opinion and reasons for vaccinating your child. However, I do not think it is appropriate to call me, and other non-vaccinating parents, cowardly idiots. Actually, the idiot part I can take- I understand calling someone an idiot who disagrees with something you are so passionate about. But a coward? I can assure you I am not a coward. I have done countless hours of research on vaccines- not vaccinating my son is not a decision I made lightly, or with internet propoganda. I research CDC disease rates, I read the CDC pink book, I pour over the actual package inserts of every vaccine given. Did you happen to watch or hear about the congressional hearing on autism that was aired on C-SPAN yesterday? The CDC admitted the reason for the current vaccine schedule, where babies are given up to 9 shots at once, is because they want to make sure children get their shots because parents sometimes forget to bring them back to the doctor. There’s no science, no study on the effects of ingredients and their effects on developing brains, in that. And on the subject of ingredients- it is a fact that vaccines contain known neuro-toxins, and babies are not tested before being injected with these to determine if they have any predisposition to being harmed by these. And vaccine injury is real, and let me assure you, when you’ve talked to enough families whose lives have been completely altered because of shots, you realize that it is NOT uncommon. The vaccine court exists because there were so many reports of adverse reactions to vaccines that the pharmaceutical companies decided it wasn’t economically worth it to make them anymore. As a result, the US goverment set up the court so that the pharmaceutical companies can’t be sued. There’s absolutely no accountability on them. For me, and my family, vaccinating just isn’t worth the risk, and fortunately in the state I live in, we have a choice not to vaccinate, just like we have a choice to opt out of any medical procedure or drug. I completely respect those who have done their research and weighed the risks (which are real) and choose to vaccinate. But I hope to be given the same respect because I choose not to.

  7. as long time reader of you wife but not a remarker and someone who fully vaccinated her child while living in a 3rd world country @ 18 mo-you can’t mess around with this. the country that we live in had a measles outbreaked christmas, 2011-over 1000 kids dead in one neighborhood! from a very easily preventable disease. we, my husband and i, choose to vaccinate because of us the other choice (some really crappy illness that can be prevented) isn’t really a choice at all.
    welcome to blogging!
    i love hearing/reading the man’s opinion on these thoughts!

Leave a Reply

